Standard Service Levels for Incident Management

Most companies engage  a minimum “3-Tier/Level of IT Support Structure for any incident management.  The scopes and resources involves for each level are stated below:

Level 1 Support

  • Provide end users with single point of contact on all system related issues
  • Consists of a team of at least 4 personnel to support 24×7
  • Basic knowledge of the system with FAQ/Support guide to troubleshoot simple, common incidents
  • Monitor system health and notify higher support level if system trigger appear
  • Escalation to Level 2 Support if an incident is beyond their knowledge
  • Provides basic preventive maintenance to the system.  E.g. backups, health checks

Level 2 Support

  • Provides in-depth application support to customer’s incident
  • Consists of a team with at least 2 personnel, this is to ensure that 1 person is always available when an incident is escalated to this level for resolution
  • In-depth knowledge of the system.  Able to make code changes immediately with full knowledge of the impact of the change to the whole system
  • Able to advise work-around if incident is not easily replicated and at the same time continue to work on investigating the cause.
  • Provides advanced preventive maintenance.  E.g. Process improvement, Scripts improvement, Database tuning, Application tuning etc.
  • Escalate to the next level for decision making and customer management.

Level 3 Support

  • Provides point of escalation when Level 2 Support is not able to resolve the problem
  • Consists of the Application manager or/and IT account manager/or Business Owner
  • Make critical decision on how to resolve the incident (usually complex incident not easily resolved)
  • Manage the customer and inform relevant parties, e.g. business account manager, etc
  • Escalate to Level 4, if required
  • Bring in additional resources, if required, to fix the issue

Level 4 Support

  • Consists of the management team
  • Manage customer from management perspective and inform relevant parties, eg Managing Directors of affected countries, CIO, CEO, etc
  • Activate more resources, if required

0 Responses to “Standard Service Levels for Incident Management”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

July 2009
« Jun   Aug »


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 464 other followers


%d bloggers like this: