05
Apr
10

Project Management – A Job or A Career

Recently I came upon an article from a job search agency, about people having different perspective about a job and a career. (Reference – http://www.facebook.com/notes/jobsdb-singapore/the-difference-between-a-job-and-a-career/389446626632?ref=mf). In this case, I come to think about the difference of a job and a career in Project Management.

Job vs. Career

How much do we understand these 2 definitions?

I remembered when I was with a well-know mobile phone maker, I look at the career roadmap on a project manager role. The career roadmap was a spiral diagram and surprise I see the miserable trend; namely project lead, junior project manager, senior project manager! What next? It is just a change to the job title, with the additional word ‘senior’ onto it. How can I move further into the program manager role in this case, in my previous employer? Well, I had to build up contacts in the head office in get me that job in which it was quite difficult for me at that time.

Being working as a project manager role, it seems to be like a daily routine except that the nature of the project different each time. Requirements scoping, cost budgeting, resource planning, planning activities are the core areas that a project manager has to do. Yes, every project is unique in terms of the business processes involved and solutions. As time goes, project managers are bored with the ‘routine activities’ they have been working on and this is what we will know as a job. A job is one that needs us to sustain the daily works of the project management organization.

A career, another definition to job-seekers, is an ongoing process that encourages an individual to enrich and develop their personal and career growths in a long run. It is not easy to find the right position for one self’s to grow within his/her employer should such opportunity is not available at all. Hence the person will look for outside opportunities to fulfill their career growth. We should not look at the person’s resume and have the assumption that he/she is not loyal or not resilient enough to stay with her current employer. Each resume we should review and look out for details that describe more about the candidate’s capabilities so that we can understand what they are looking forward to achieve for their career growth.

I still continue to pursue this career path in program management, enrich myself everyday with new things and skills. One day, I will prevail! 🙂

2 Responses to “Project Management – A Job or A Career”


  1. April 6, 2010 at 4:06 am

    Hi,

    I’ve actually written an article on the project manager’s career path.

    It is a career, and you can go from a project manager to a program manager (though admittedly, this is extremely hard if you stay in the same company). Once you’re a program manager, then it’s easy to move even more upwards, as the program manager is an executive role.

  2. April 7, 2013 at 5:08 pm

    Greetings from Los angeles! I’m bored at work so I decided to browse your website on my iphone during lunch break. I love the knowledge you provide here and can’t wait to
    take a look when I get home. I’m shocked at how fast your blog loaded on my mobile .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .
    . Anyways, very good site!


Leave a Reply

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 443 other followers


